Old Glasgow Pubs.co.uk

[ skip to navigation ]
Old Glasgow Pubs by john gorevan


The Bowlers.

100 Tullis Street,Bridgeton, Glasgow.


The Bowlers 1991.

There has been a pub on this site since at least 1875, occupied then by John Scott.

In 1881 well known east end publican Andrew Wauchope took over the pub. Mr Wauchope was brought up in the hand loom weaving business in the east end of the city for twenty years. He was well known in the Glasgow licensed trade and the Benevolent Institution. His famous blend of old Scotch whisky was called "Old Kirk." Wauchope also owned the Green Rest at 13 Main Street, Bridgeton. The Bowlers Bar was closed down for many years and has now been recently reopened.


The Bowlers August 2005.

Andrew Wauchop

Andrew Wauchope 1881.


Go to top of page